The 5 stages of morning…

If you have ever read anything on serious illness, loss or grief you have likely heard of Elisabeth Kübler-Ross. Kübler-Ross introduced the Five Stages of Grief a few decades ago.  The stages are: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance.  Kübler-Ross’ model has been heavily critiqued over time, but it is still frequently referenced.

There have a number of variations on the Kübler-Ross model.  One of my Facebook friends (Hal Newman) recently posted the best variation I have ever seen.   Hal’s version addressed the five stages of morning that his wife experiences.

The Five Stages of Morning:

1. Denial – “This can’t be morning. I just went to sleep.”

2. Anger – “Why me? Why do I have to get up at this ferkucked hour?”

3. Bargaining – “Just five more minutes, please if…”

4.  Depression – “Aaaaugh. I’m so depressed. It’s raining & it’s morning.”

5.  Acceptance – “Okay, I guess I’m up now. Better get on with the rest of the day.”

Perhaps Kübler-Ross can adopt the above model instead…not too much to argue with there.  I think a lot of us can verify the accuracy of the 5 stages of morning.  Thank you Hal for introducing the new improved Kübler-Ross model. 😉

One thousand thirty-one of the new forty – obla di obla da

Ms. C

About Ms. C

I teach at NDSU...but I remain a student of life with all the enthusiasm that entails. My favorite saying is, "Sometimes you have to take the leap and build your wings on the way down." In the new forty that is what I am doing...building my wings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 5 stages of morning…

  1. Barbara says:

    I LOVE it! My morning dialogue has at long last been validated!

Comments are closed.